Expedition aims to uncover sevengill shark mysteries

Leaving in just 6 hours! Stay tuned and follow this amazing expedition.

Shark Devocean

The coastal cowsharks of South Africa are about to receive dedicated research that aims to shed light on their enigmatic ecology. 

Guest blogger: Zofia Drapella

broadnose-sevengill-shark-portrait The broadnose sevengill shark is a member of the cowshark family, Hexanchiformes.

I am currently on my way to the shark capital of the world – South Africa’s Western Cape – to swim among some of the ocean’s largest predators. The Shark Project, the first of several socio-environmental projects that form part of Mike Horn’s Pole to Pole 360 expedition, aims to raise the profile of the human threat against sharks, and show that sharks themselves are more misunderstood than malevolent. With a group of dedicated divers from around the world, we will assist with pioneering shark research and attempt to banish the “maneater” myth.

pole-to-pole-360 With the support of Mercedes Benz, Mike Horn introduces an expedition worthy of the 21st century. Pole to Pole 360 will…

View original post 749 more words

About Zofia Drapella

I always seek adventures, but want them to be meaningful (usually related to science, marine biology, teaching). I so often find myself in the most amazing circumstances and incredible places with inspiring people. I genuinely consider myself to be the luckiest person in the world... I love nature, oceans, mountains, jungles. I try my best to capture what I have the privilege to see/experience and share it with others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Expedition aims to uncover sevengill shark mysteries

  1. dariodrapella says:

    Good luck Sophie – great adventure. I am proud of you. LoL

Leave a Reply

