Summer Schools at the National Oceanography Centre

IMG_2555

IMG_2681

These past few weeks have been very intense. I like living life intensely, even if it is at a cost of sleep. I have been involved with three Summer Schools at the National Oceanography Centre UK once again. For the first school we had 30 young (15-16 years old) girls and we wanted to inspire them to pursue STEM related higher education. Basically it was about having more females going for careers in engineering, technology and science.

The second Summer School was run by the EDT (Engineering development Trust) and offered a Headstart course for future university applicants. Our job as Science Staff was to demonstrate to and teach 60 teenagers about marine biology and oceanography. We got out on the R/V Callista and did some sampling in the local river Itchen Estuary and the Solent. We looked at the benthic and plankton communities and investigated with use of microscopes.

The third Summer School was sponsored by the BG and involved 120 young adults. We as the Science Staff were once again demonstrating, giving tours and lectures on both the research vessel and on the shore. I had a great time talking about the deep sea and bioluminescence, about applications of marine biology in biomedical science and giving tours around the aquarium. The students seemed to enjoy the schools as well and at the end of each one they presented their findings to an audience of peers, parents and teachers.

This is a very rewarding job and it makes me happy to hear that I have inspired a few teenagers to pursue ocean-related careers.

IMG_2549
IMG_2576 IMG_2647 IMG_2649 IMG_2673
IMG_2690 IMG_2691 IMG_2692 IMG_2694 IMG_2715 IMG_2718
summer schools staff

sfaff barAnd the final staff photo. We have survived the marathon of long days at work and what is more – we all enjoyed it!

About Zofia Drapella

I always seek adventures, but want them to be meaningful (usually related to science, marine biology, teaching). I so often find myself in the most amazing circumstances and incredible places with inspiring people. I genuinely consider myself to be the luckiest person in the world... I love nature, oceans, mountains, jungles. I try my best to capture what I have the privilege to see/experience and share it with others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

