Africa leaves me speachless

Jambo! I’m in Nairobi. or as locals call it Nairobbery.

There is so much I want to say. So much I NEED to say!

Today, starting in the early morning we were driving from Tsavo East to Nairobi (the capital city of Kenya). I was tired, but did not want to miss anything.The landscapes are beautiful, baobab trees and giant cacti, baboons crossing the highway is perfectly common. But these were not what stunned me the most. It was the poverty.

I won’t show you pictures of this, because people here do not want you to take photos. If you do, they expect money in return, which is understandable. I did not want to ‘attack’ them with my camera, and instead I tried my best to remember everything as clearly as possible. Now listen to what I have witnessed.

From as early as the Sun goes up (which here on the equator happens really fast) women go with some plasctic tanks to look for fresh water. I knew there was a big problem with water in the world, the fresh water supplies are decreasing ect. But I have never ever seen something like this in my life. People have to walk sometimes 2-3 kilometres to bring the water. And what kind of water is this?! No, not the one we have in our bathrooms. Not a nice tap water. They take their drinking water from wells, rivers or even small ponds. And you can only imagine what type of water it is. Driving on the highway to Nairobi you see tousands of people carrying those yellow tanks on their heads.Carrying contaminated water that is so precious for them, because their family lives depends on it.

For us, mzungu (white people) even the tap water here is no good enough to brush your teeth. In result I have to use mineral water. That teaches me how precious this water actually is. Think only how much water do YOU use every day. And how much would you use if you had to carry it at 6 am on your head.

It is vacation time here in Kenya, but some kids go to school for additional courses. Many of them do not have school bags and carry their book (if they have any!) in plastic bags. Not every kid obviously is so privileged to go to school, only the richer. (school do cost here).

The Nairobi highway – guess who uses the roads here? Mainly huge trucks responsible for the transport from Mombasa and the coast to Nairobi. They drive horribly, thanks God I’m alive. Then muzungu people in cars adapted to Safari roads and finally government people in their fancy cars. People from the government here eard 350 times more than a normal salary. CAN YOU IMAGINE THIS?! That would never be possible in our countries. Lets say someone earns 1000Euros a month and he government person would earn 350 000 Euros a month! That is earning in one day the same as others earn in a whole year. Ahh the world is truly unfair!

I could write like this endlessly, but nobody reads long posts, so to be continued later.

kwaheri.

 

About Zofia Drapella

I always seek adventures, but want them to be meaningful (usually related to science, marine biology, teaching). I so often find myself in the most amazing circumstances and incredible places with inspiring people. I genuinely consider myself to be the luckiest person in the world... I love nature, oceans, mountains, jungles. I try my best to capture what I have the privilege to see/experience and share it with others.
This entry was posted in Kenya, Traveling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

